Skip to content

Twitter

April 9, 2013

I need to either change the way I use Twitter or stop using it, for the following reasons:

 

a) Things I don’t care about are starting to take up too much headspace, due to me seeing lots of tweets about them

b) My attention span is definitely getting shorter

c) I look after my son during the day, and spend too much of that time smartphone in hand, checking Twitter

d) I check Twitter out of habit, not actual desire, and each time end up feeling like I’ve entered a room for a reason I can’t remember

e) I’m trying to find a job, and a real-name Twitter account could be detrimental

f) It inhibits my writing. I find it difficult to write honestly as long as I’m ‘plugged in’ to a stream of writers and readers talking about what they like, what they don’t like, giving advice, etc

g) It’s making my brain feel cloudy, in ways connected to points a) and f)

 

None of these are criticisms of Twitter itself, or the people I choose to follow. People can tweet whatever they want, of course, and it’s up to me to decide whether or not to consume their output. (As it were). And so I could change my experience of Twitter by changing my follow list. But that wouldn’t fix everything – I don’t think it would fix the larger issues at all.

So I’m thinking seriously about leaving Twitter, at least for a while. I feel as if it will help me clear my head, in a very real way.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. I heard some really good advice at a social media panel at a Writer’s Conference recently. They advised seriously trying a social media platform for a month or so (like, actually learning how it works and making a sincere effort), and if you don’t enjoy it by then, you never will.

    I’m almost at the point where I’m ready to throw Twitter out the window for some of the reasons you mentioned. Plus, I don’t have a smart phone, so it’s not any more helpful than say Facebook or a blog is. Glad I’m not the only one who dislikes Twitter!

    • Hi Nichole – thanks for the comment. That is good advice, imho.

      I feel as if I used to really like and enjoy Twitter, but don’t so much any more. It’s down to the way I use it, without a doubt, but to be honest I can’t just change the way I use it without doing something definite. (I’ve formed too many habits!)

  2. chestymorgan permalink

    I’d be very sorry to see you nick off but totally understand.Its all very repetitive and tedious these days

  3. Oh dear, I hope it wasn’t me! 🙂

  4. Well, I will miss your tweets, but I hope the twitter hiatus helps, as you say, “Uninhibit” your writing (As scary as a thought as that is…) I will take to old fashioned email next time I want to drink scotch and talk horror.

Leave a Reply

