Skip to content

Damage Land

March 5, 2011

Damage Land was a collection of new Scottish Gothic fiction edited by Alan Bissett, and published by Polygon in 2001. It opened with this quotation:

‘All you’ve got to do is follow some people around and look at their existence for 24 hours, and it will be horror. It will just be horror.’

James Kelman

 

This quotation is what appears in my head whenever somebody asks me why I write horror fiction, or if people around me start speculating about the nature of horror fiction. I think I’ve blogged / written / spoken about this quotation before. I would be surprised if I haven’t, because I think about it nearly all the time.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

